Sunday, February 2, 2020

Congratulations to the 2020 Sibert Winner and Honor Books

Every year the American Library Association awards the Robert F. Sibert award to the best nonfiction book. Look to these titles as mentor texts as you work on your own stories.

The 2020 winner is Kevin Noble Maillard and his concept book Fry Bread: A Native American Family Story.  Illustrated by Juana Martinez-Neal, it was published by Roaring Book Press. 
Honor Books include:   
All in a Drop: How Antony van Leeuwenhoek Discovered an Invisible World, written by Lori Alexander, illustrated by Vivien Mildenberger, and published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. 
This Promise of Change: One Girl's Story in the Fight for School Equality, written by Jo Ann Allen Boyce and Debbie Levy, and published by Bloomsbury Children's Books.
Ordinary Hazards: A Memoir, written by Nikki Grimes, and published by WordSong, an imprint of Highlights.
Hey, Water! written and illustrated by Antoinette Portis, and published by Neal Porter Books, Holiday House. 

No comments:

Post a Comment